Mental Health: Fashion and Confidence

Mental health means accepting yourself and loving yourself no matter what. Yet, that is easier said than done.

The other day I was on my way to meet one of my dear friends for dinner at this cool restaurant that serves sushi burrito style. Earlier that day I had stopped my Zara and picked out this super cute matching choker and necklace, but as I walked to meet her I kept getting weird looks from people on the street.

Rather than just owning my look, I ended up texting over five different friends pictures of my outfit asking their thoughts and seeking validation….

The thing is, no one’s opinion matters other than mine. So while it was great to get a bunch of “I love it” texts from my supportive besties, I should have been able to rock my look without approval from others.

I wish I could say I instantly learned my lesson, but even as I had this blog post planned out, yesterday I ended up texting photos of myself to my friends as I was shopping to get their opinion. While it is fun it shop with friends, I wasn’t looking for fun but I was looking for approval.

In the end, I am the one wearing the outfit, and I don’t care what anyone else thinks. If I feel I look good, then I feel good and that’s all that matters. Anxiety often makes me think everyone is looking at me and judging me, but in reality, they probably are too preoccupied with themselves and not paying attention to the stranger on the street. Plus, as far as I know they were looking at me and loving my outfit.

IMG_1655
I know it won’t change for me overnight, but that does not mean I cannot work on stopping seeking validation from everyone else and just accepting my own opinion.

Leave a Reply

