Loved: Gilmore Girls

Gilmore Girls has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. When I was younger I watched it every day at 5pm with my grandma when I came home from school. With the return of Gilmore Girls, I thought I would share some lessons I learned from watching the show.

1.It is totally acceptable for a female to have a big appetite.

With so many girls, whether in middle school or college, obsessing about their weight this show demonstrates a great body image. They eat what they want. They dress to fit their body, not dieting to fit into clothes. They enjoy their food and don’t count calories. More of us should #EatLikeAGilmore

2. It’s cool to be smart.

Growing up nerdy, Rory gave me a sense of comfort. Don’t dumb down for a boy. Be who you are, even if that person might not be the stereotypical cool girl shown on other shows.

3.  There’s always another boy, but friendship lasts forever.

Rory goes through a few boyfriends on the show, but Lane is always there for Rory. I know that I’ve been through a lot of relationships, but the one I will always have is with my best friend / partner for life/ my very own Lane Kim – Jenny Kim!

4. It’s OKAY to get overwhelmed.

Even Rory has to take a break from Yale and move in with her grandparents for a mental health break. Taking time for yourself isn’t weakness. Always prioritize your mental health.

Thanks for reading, and check back Wednesday for Wise Word Wednesdays!

 

#LikeAGilmore,

E

elaina.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

